newbie: palm vs ipaq question

alexxx

秀才
Sorry if the question has been answered elsewhere, I just dropped in and the only info I found about my problem is here: http://www.pleco.com/whichpda.html .

I am studying chinese (for my pleasure, not work) and it seems that this software is the way to go (though I also heard good reviews about the Ectaco GD-128).

Unfortunately I don't own a pda (and I'm a bit luddite too, electronic devices irritate me ...) but was preparing myself into buying one.

My problem/question is the tradeoff between screen size and operability.

Screen size: 320 x 240 pixels the Ipaq, 320 x 480 pixels the Palm TX

Operability:
the new version of our software we're about to release, Pleco 2.0, runs significantly better on Pocket PC than on Palm, and with Palm OS sales and market share dwindling we can't guarantee that we'll continue supporting Palm OS at all in future versions of Pleco.

What do you suggest for a new user?

Thanks for any help!

alessandro

ipsi

状元
General consenus would be that WM is probably a better choice, unless you have a burning desire to keep on buying new gadgets (I do, but I'm weird).

On the other hand, everyone's needs are different... What else do you plan on doing with the device? Just Pleco?

The resolution difference probably won't be hugely noticable (but I could be wrong - I've only used 320x320 devices), and you have more control over the fonts on a WM device, so you can increase or decrease as you prefer :).

Alternatively, if you feel like practicing patience, you can wait for the iPhone/iPod Touch version. Probably won't be as feature-packed, but should still be better than basically anything else out there for those devices.

alexxx

秀才
320x320 devices? I believed the Ipaq 114 was 320x240.
If it is 320x320, then I admit it's nearer to the 320x480 and that could be better...

alessandro

alessandro,