Fonts - Any suggestions? Plus, some feedback from my Note2

Hey,

Iv'e replaced my iPhone 4 with a Samsung Galaxy Note 2, mainly because of the simple reason that i needed a much bigger screen for my Chinese learning. Transferring my flashcard database was easy thanks to Pleco's great system, but now i find that android's basic Chinese font is really ugly.
I saw the options to switch the font, but since i'm pretty new to the language - does any one have suggestions for better looking fonts? are there any free fonts for the android that i could install?

Also - iv'e seen that you guys are in the process of licensing fonts to be built in to app, is there any eta on a new version with the new fonts?

Thanks!

Edit:
Ok, i've put my thinking hat on, and found a nice simkai font, happy with it for now but would really love if you could still give suggestions!

As iv'e said, i've replaced my iPhone with a Note 2 (N7100), and i'm very happy with it, but i do have some feedback for Pleco.
First, the touch on Pleco is WAY too sensetive. i can't make a straight line to save my life (as opposed to the s Note program, which is just right). Maybe you guys could tweak it and optimize for the s Pen? make it pressure sensitive like on the s Note?

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
Re: Fonts - Any suggestions?

TheHunter88 said:
Iv'e replaced my iPhone 4 with a Samsung Galaxy Note 2, mainly because of the simple reason that i needed a much bigger screen for my Chinese learning. Transferring my flashcard database was easy thanks to Pleco's great system, but now i find that android's basic Chinese font is really ugly.
I saw the options to switch the font, but since i'm pretty new to the language - does any one have suggestions for better looking fonts? are there any free fonts for the android that i could install?

You might like the open-licensed Ming and Kai Arphic ones, though I'm not quite sure how well they perform with Android's font renderer (which tends to be rather cranky).