Extra audio, let's meet the whole way...

I recently found this app and I was very impressed with the quality of the app and what it can do. I got tired of the slow, non rhythmic pronunciation, and upgraded to the pro version in order to get the better dictionary as well. Here's the shortcoming. The audio really isn't enough. 34,000 words sounds good, but, a LOT of the even the basic words I study (I'm a newbie) aren't covered by the new sounds. I really think the app bundles are overpriced given this bottleneck. Audio is the key element to learning new words.
The app is probably the best one out there if you're studying Mandarin, and there are a lot of useful elements to grow into if you're a beginner (such as the non pinyin dics and reader), but I'm feeling a bit left for want in the audio. Pleco has gone half-way on this, but with all the other useful tools, why not go the full distance? Just my opinion.

edit **a FEW of the basic words were broken into syllables, not a LOT (slight exaggeration), and they weren't TTS, they were recorded sounds**.

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
siamesefightingfish said:
I recently found this app and I was very impressed with the quality of the app and what it can do. I got tired of the slow, non rhythmic pronunciation, and upgraded to the pro version in order to get the better dictionary as well. Here's the shortcoming. The audio really isn't enough. 34,000 words sounds good, but, a LOT of the even the basic words I study (I'm a newbie) aren't covered by the new sounds. I really think the app bundles are overpriced given this bottleneck. Audio is the key element to learning new words.

We've already addressed this, download our new beta app (probably out officially later this week) and you can get two different Text-to-Speech System add-ons that will not only give you accurate-sounding audio for (pretty much) every word in the dictionary, they also read entire example sentences at you.