Duplicate Entries for Multi-character words

boxcariii

I am new to Pleco, so I apologize in advance if this is due to my own ineptitude.

It appears that Pleco will stop me from adding a duplicate card when the headword is a single character, but allow duplicate multi-character headword cards. I am running version 2.2.13 on iPhone5. Duplicate cards under Settings->Flashcards is set to "Keep Category". So far I have only imported the new HSK list into my flashcards.

I created a new category, not under HSK, for new cards I want to add. I then navigate to that category under "Organize Cards". From there I select add card. If I enter a single character under "Simplified Character Headword" like 本 and hit save, it says "This will result in a duplicate card - are you sure you want to continue?" If I select no, nothing happens. If I select yes, a duplicate is added. If I use the word 医生, it will let me add the card. Both of these examples appear in New HSK -> Level 1.

Is this the intended functionality? I have two issues. 1) When adding a duplicate card, I simply want the new category added to the old card. 2) When adding multi-character words, I would like them to detected as duplicates.

According to the documentation and tutorial, both of these should work, but I cannot figure it out. I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
boxcariii said:
I created a new category, not under HSK, for new cards I want to add. I then navigate to that category under "Organize Cards". From there I select add card. If I enter a single character under "Simplified Character Headword" like 本 and hit save, it says "This will result in a duplicate card - are you sure you want to continue?" If I select no, nothing happens. If I select yes, a duplicate is added. If I use the word 医生, it will let me add the card. Both of these examples appear in New HSK -> Level 1.