Advice on PDA?

Mads

举人
I am in China right now studying chinese. A friend introduced me to your program. I was impressed, but i have a few questions:

I have never used a PDA before and wanted to know what to look for when i go to buy one.

Since I'm in China, the PDA that I have been looking at all used Chinese in the operating system. Do I have to purchase the English version separately or would I be able to obtain the English version free of charge?

I have thought about purchasing a PDA on Ebay, and was wondering if there was any difference between the PDA's made for the American market and the China/Europe market?

If I order your program, could I have it shipped to me here in China and how much would it be and how long would that take?

As well, what exactly is included in the package?

Hope someone can help me out!

Mads said:
I have thought about purchasing a PDA on Ebay, and was wondering if there was any difference between the PDA's made for the American market and the China/Europe market?

Yes. It starts with different ROMs for the American and European markets; the American ROMs are usually smaller and contain an english-only PalmOS. The PDAs for the European market support multiple languages and thus have a larger ROM. For some particular devices I've even heard that the American ones contain a ROM and European ones a Flash ROM (but I don't remember the exact devices now anymore).

Also, the power supplies might be different for older devices, albeit Palm for some time ships an all-continent power supply where you just put on the right plug adaptor for your region (it comes with three or four different ones).

There can also be differences with respect to the accompanying software. You can find some hints about this in the c.s.p.pilot newgroup; goggle, as usual, will be your friend in turning up such information.

Mads said: