suggestion: the perfect flashcards / "anki" review

gandq

探花
dear mike,

i know there are several threads concerning the flashcards, but i admit that i was too lazy to read them all. so i don't know how much of this was already suggested by other people. i hope you don't mind.

i thought about the perfect flashcard tool and you can find my suggestions at the end of the post. in between i want to sum up my experience with flashcard programs: why they are so important and which flaws do they have. i do this hoping that pleco will create the ?ber-flashcard-tool. please skip if not interested.

as i am studying german-chinese translation and interpretation, creating my own vocabulary cards is of great importance to me. not only for learning them, but also because i learn a lot of words that cannot be found in a dictionary, so i need to create my own one.
i also think about it as an important tool for my professional life later on, because there will be speacial terminology to be learned/reviewed/accessed for different interpretation jobs.

i am currently using anki (http://www.anki.com) as my vocabulary tool. before that i used a freeware app (http://www.andante.org/chinese.html). both programs have the advantage that one can enter new vocabulary using a pc and then load it onto the pda.

that's the main reason why i never really used the oxford flashcards. another reason is that i am german and flash cards consisting of entries from an E-C dictionary just don't suit my needs. i need my own entries and i need to create a lot of them quickly - best done with a computer and not on the pda itself.

the freeware app soon became too limited and i was very happy to find anki, as it has the following positive features: