I'm studying chinese.. any tips on how to study it?

A

albertgilmore

I've been mostly memorizing the verbs and the general structure of sentences. I'm using this book called Getting Around in China, it's mostly a reference book but it has some teaching elements in it. I've been writing the symbols down and repeating them everyday for the past 2 weeks. I was wondering if there's a specifically efficient way of studying chinese. By the way, it's Mandarin. I'm also using the nciku.com dictionary and the pleco software on the iphone to sound out some of the words phonetically. It's going pretty slowly since the memorization is pretty rough but definitely rewarding. Any tips would be appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

Shun

状元
Hi albertgilmore,

my best tip is that you try to develop a certain degree of independence. How do you achieve independence? You have to find out the merits and downsides of a particular learning strategy yourself for your case, since like with clothing, there is no learning strategy that fits everyone. So I think the key is to develop the ability of finding out what learning strategy fits you, and then the motivation and endurance to keep at it.

The best way of finding out the merits and downsides of a learning strategy is to keep practicing the one you currently have for a few weeks, without changing it much. After a few weeks, you will know what parts of it were good and what parts of it less so. Then, you can make an informed decision on what new things may be worth trying. After another few weeks, you evaluate the learning strategy again, and introduce new elements and drop others. Actually, it's the normal trial-and-error learning process that applies to most things. For Chinese, it may just be a little less obvious because the individual steps take time, and sound judgments on what you're doing take time to materialize. So, patience may also be needed at first, to try to notice what is actually working and what isn't.