Cantonese User Dictionary, but packaged as a <plecopack>

I know you've seen this question before (starting in at least 2003 with what might possibly be the eighth ever thread on this forum!), but I at least have a new twist on it!

I'm currently a student at 香港中文大學 studying Cantonese and I have a number of sources available to me that I have full rights to use which amount to a little bit over 25,000 entries with Cantonese romanizations. Being able to dump these into Pleco would be immensely valuable. Since custom user dictionaries are currently feature-limited for non-Mandarin I thought I could possibly insert them the same way Pleco does for the releases that you (re)publish.

I'm technically capable and am totally okay if any proposed solution breaks in the future on an arbitrary upgrade without notice. My current ill-advised attempt:
- Insert proxy between Pleco and `filelist.php`.
- Serve my dictionary by inserting a bonus item into the response.
- Create a properly formatted dictionary.

"Properly formatted" notes:
- I have the ability to put my source data into the same format as CC-Canto, but that's not the format you're delivering things in.
- I could set it up as a PDB and reverse CC-Canto but I'm unfamiliar with the format and the tooling available appears limited.

Only two questions:
1. Is Pleco expecting the content of the database to be encrypted? (In other words, should I stop now because there is no way to do this without your private key?)
2. Is there an existing tool that you're using for reading/producing PDB files or are you running something of your own that has been around since 2000-ish?

I am trying to avoid imposing on you. Please take your time if you elect to respond, I know you're prepping for iOS 14, new screen resolutions, and more. If this thread starts making you desire to nuke my license from orbit please ignore my questions. I'm a happy customer no matter what.

A trip down memory lane:

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member