A few questions from a noob about pleco flashcards!

daxia

Hey guys, I am extremely tired of skritter and how poorly it works and now I am going to try pleco, an app that I bought a long time ago but never really used the flashcard function.
I have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with.

1. How do I practice writing characters and tones at the same time (not pinyin, only tones)?

2. Is is possible to add words to your study while studying? The lists I use are huge with thousands of words, thus it will take me weeks/months to go through them. If I find new characters that I want to add to my lists while I am studying so I dont have to restart, is there any way to do this?

Thanks!!!

Last edited:

Shun

状元
Hi Daxia,

happy to hear you're switching to Pleco! :) Let me try to help, though my answer can't be exhaustive:

1. You can practice writing characters using the test mode Fill-in-the-blanks and tones using Tone Practice, not simultaneously, but one after the other. Instead of using Fill-in-the-blanks, you can also choose Self-graded and Show: Definition if you prefer to write using pencil and paper, and then check if the answer was right. This would also allow you to check the tones at the same time, since you will not see the pinyin at first, and then with tones. (not sure if that is exactly what you want)

There is just one difficulty: Pleco keeps scores of your learning progress. If, say, you're much better at remembering the tones than with writing characters, Pleco would just add the scores up for both learning modes if you keep the same scorefile for both. So I recommend that you create two learning profiles, each with their own scorefile, and use one for Tone Practice and the other for Fill-in-the-blanks.