Windows 10 Universal Apps

Mike, I've been a huge fan of Pleco for several years now. I'm 100% certain that if it wasn't for this app, I wouldn't have completed the Chinese major program at my university. I've been following long enough to know of your love for iOS, indifference to Android, and disdain for Windows. In previous threads you had no interest in developing for WP7/8 for lack of return on investment (time/money).

Now that Microsoft plans to merge the development of all their devices under W10 (desktops, laptops, tablets, phones, Xbox, HoloLens, etc.), will you consider finally developing for Windows? I'm no programmer, but if I understand correctly, the same code can be used across all of these devices.

What would be the reason against developing for W10? If you don't wish to port the program yourself, can't you outsource the work? Pleco seems to be popular enough for their to be financial inventive on these platforms.

P.S. Imagine a future where you can stare at a Chinese sign using HoloLens and have Pleco OCR overlay the translation!

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
It's not so much disdain for Windows as it is that I have a hard time imagining Windows ever becoming a significant player on phones again, and without phones the other things don't really matter - anything we might do on desktops / laptops / tablets is, at least for the vast majority of our users, merely an accompaniment to the Pleco experience on their phone.

At the moment (as I've intimated in other threads and on Twitter), if we do anything to expand outwards from iOS/Android my inclination would be to make it web-based, since I think that's a more natural place for a companion to a mobile app to be (easier sync, instant access from any public computer, etc). I'm not currently convinced that the Pleco experience in a native Windows desktop app would be enough of an improvement over the experience in a web-based app to justify the vastly higher development cost.