PDA language, key size, screen size

feng

榜眼
Hi,

I'm thinking of buying one of these PDA things for the sole reason of using Pleco. As it's a lot of money 'just' to save time looking up words while reading, I have a few questions about PDAs that relate to Pleco. I've never used these things before, so my questions may reflect this fact.

1) PDA language. Are PDAs monolingual like Windows or can you switch OS languages like Macs? I may end up buying one in Korea (long story), but I don't know Korean, so if I need to I will buy one in the US before I go.

2) The keys on these things are mighty small! The Japanese style electronic dictionaries are ok, but the PDAs I've seen have unbelievably small keys, made more for a small child's hands. I could deal, reluctantly, with cell phone sized keys. Are there any models out there that fit my wants? I do not want a separate keyboard as the whole point to my getting one of these things is to just grab the thing and type while I am reading a book.

What about the touch screen ones? Neither Circuit City nor Best Buy will turn them on for me! Can someone recommend an electronics/computer store with a large selection and where they will turn stuff on for you? And will the touch screen models make a difference for my complaint about key size as far as ease of using the stylus with the on screen keyboard? Is that gray space in the bottom of the E2 where you write?

3) Screen size. Seems like most have 320 x 320 and one has 320 x 480. Does Pleco allow for using the extra screen size? Can I set (once) my own default font size or is it preset at a single size?

And here
http://www.pleco.com/pdscreenshots.html
I get the impression that I'm going to get more screen from a Palm thingy than a Windows thingy? Not surprising ...

Any other helpful purchasing hints you wish to share with a PDA newbie are very welcome and appreciated :D

Thanks!

gato

状元