Optimising Speed

taijidan

举人
Hi There,

I have been using my palm for a few months. I installed loads of applications on it.
However now I just want to have a clean palm installation with pleco.
As pleco is the only thing I use it for are there any tips to improve performance.

Also one thing I am not used to in Palm OS there seems to be no way to close applications like
there is in windows. Some of them seem to keep running in the backround slowing things down.
Is there any way to shut them off?

Thanks for any tips.

rgds
Dan

ipsi

状元
If all you want is a clean PDA, do a hard reset, which will wipe *everything*. Then reinstall Plecodict. However, BEFORE that, find someone who's actually done a hard reset and ask them for tips on how to make it as painless as possible. I've never done one, so I'm not sure. Probably need to rename your backup directory, and backup your various Pleco files, etc.

I'm not sure about the whole speed thing, as Pleco works fine for me, with about the speed I would expect. :).

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
Actually, on Palm OS only one application can be running at a time; when you switch to another application the one you're currently in automatically exits. The only programs that avoid this restriction are a few specialized things like MP3 players that have hacked the system to enable multithreading, and you don't need to worry about those unless you actually have one playing music in the background while you're running Pleco.