Losing things

ozinchina

I had my pleco software on my imate PDA but if I allow the batery to get low I have lost my flashcards and this time I've lost the software.

I have it stored on my storage card and it still seems to be there but I cannot get at it. I have lost the pleco icon and when I do a search I'm told that pleco cannot be found.

I'm pretty new with using the imate so apprecaite a little help in trying to fix the problem and then avoid it in the future.

Anticiapte hearing from someone on this soon.

cheers
Penny :shock:

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
Sounds like your internal memory keeps getting wiped when the battery runs out. The software gets rather unstable when you load all of it on a memory card, so probably the best solution to this is to use some sort of automated backup utility that will copy all of your files / flashcards / etc to your memory card on a regular basis; that way, if the battery runs out you'll have a recent backup which you can easily restore. Search Handango or PocketGear and you should find lots of good backup programs there.

To reinstall the software / restore the Pleco icon, all you should need to do is run the PlecoDict installer again and select only the "PlecoDict Engine" and "Song Font" components (the other stuff should still be on the memory card). You'll likely also need to install your keyfile again.

gato

状元
The best thing is not to let the battery run low. Lithium batteries on these PDA are meant to recharged before they run low. Running them out actually shorten their lives.

ozinchina

thanks for advice

Thanks for you prompt advice.

Mike, all I have on my PC is the instruction booklet and Uninstall program. Can you explain what I need to do to run the program on my Imate again. I have tried to logon to the myorders to download again but cannot remember my password. What should it look like or should I just apply for a new one. Keen to get this thing happening again. I need my dictionary.