TTS stopped working

Nad

Hi,I'm new to Chinese, Pleco, and this Forum so let me first start by saying thanks for this amazing app :)

About a couple of weeks ago, TTS stopped working for both headwords (that don't have an audio recording) and for example sentences. the play button is there, but tapping it doesn't do anything.

I bought Qiang in the hope that this will fix it, but I now realize this is just a "voice" and not a different TTS engine (1: is this correct?).
Google TTS works fine elsewhere on my phone: well, at least where I tried it which is in google translate. in Fact, it also works fine in Pleco for the English translations of the example sentences when I "Enable English" . it just doesn't work for Mandarin.
my settings:
TTS Speed: 100%
System TTS Engine : I tried both "None" and "Google Text-to-Speech Engine" , neither works (2: what's the difference, Qiang appears in either case?)
in Android's system TTS settings:
- Preferred Engine: Google Text-to-Speech Engine
- Language: Chinese (China)
TTS Voice: Qiang (Mandarin Male), although it doesn't matter if I choose something else.
Hide example button: unchecked
Enable English: checked.
Volume: all 4 set at 100%

I am running Pleco 3.2.68 on Android 9.

3: Any idea what's going on here? I hope it's not something obvious that I'm missing!

Bonus question 4: Even when TTS was working, the character highlighting in sentences was wayyyy out of sync with the TTS. The highlighting moved faster and it seems this didn't change if I change TTS Speed. TTS Speed in pleco itself seemed to have no effect either, and I could only change the speed via accessing Android's setting screen for TTS.

I tried to lay out the problem as clearly as possible to help you help me, and hope I wasn't being unnecessarily long-winded ;)

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member