smallest recommended screen?

stoney

举人
I just broke another screen on my T/X arghh!!
I am in China now, and thinking it's time to get a phone that will run my pleco.
I'm totally new to this technology. I guess a WinMobile would be ok this time.
Wondering what the smallest screen size is that works ok. I seldom used the full screen on the T/X. And a slightly narrower screen would be ok for me especially if it was a bit clearer. I found the palm display terrible in the outside light.
So any recommendations on a smaller, middle of the road phone? Just a phone to run pleco.

Thanks very much for any recommendations.

ldolse

状元
You mean smallest recommended screen, or phone? Several variations of the HTC Touch (original version) are available only in China for pretty good prices, I think between 100-200 bucks from the gray market suppliers. You'll pay quite a bit more if you buy it through an official Channel that also includes the warranty though.

Any smaller and you'd need to go with a square screen phone, I don't think I'd recommend that, though Mike has gone out of his way to make sure Pleco runs well on those too.

sfrrr

状元
Part of the decision depends on the condition of your eyes. I am one who must wear her glasses all the time. Based on my experience, VGA is the must-have. Also, I prefer WinMo right now because, so far, it does the best with Chinese characters. I tried PD on my HTC TouchPro for about a week--it worked and was extremely useful. However, I decided to go back to my HP iPAQ 211 full-time because I couldn't stand the tiny display. Even with my glasses on. Also, if you plan to use the audio features of PD, make sure your PDA has a standard 3.5 headphone jack and a tolerable (at the least) speaker. Also, I can't imagine using PD without a stylus (i.e. non-touch screen), nor can I imagine doing much touch-navigating. I'm a small person with small fingers and long fingernails (built-in stylii), but even I prefer a stylus.

Sandra

stoney

举人