Installing Google Play Services on a China-bought Android phone?

Scoox

举人
Hi all, I bought a Samsung C5 Pro phone a couple of days ago. Amazing hardware, really ticks all the boxes for me, but... this phone is completely devoid of anything Google. That includes no Play Store. Initially I thought getting the Google stuff installed would be as easy as installing copying and running an APK, but apparently not. All Google Play Services APKs I've downloaded either, run and crash, install but don't run, or don't install at all. This is my first time to purchase an Android device in China, so I didn't even see this coming. This is a nightmare. I've wasted the whole weekend trying to get Google to work on my phone (so I can sync my contacts, calendar, previously purchased apps, etc) but no cigar. Has anyone here had a similar experience and a solution? I've reached the point where I'm willing to sell it and get a Pixel or something that is guaranteed to come with the Google bits pre-installed. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

举人
I can't exactly comment for your Samsung, but I bought a Xiaomi in China which has the same issues. Being a Samsung the way forward isn't as clear but developer forums such as XDA should have some guides. I know the big Chinese players like Xiaomi have a vibrant English forum communities to explain the way forward. I suggest look up some Samsung in China forums, you definitely wouldn't be the first with this problem. Also worth mentioning is them being google services have a VPN ready.

Scoox

举人
Perhaps it's easier to reinstall an occidental version of android, like in https://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/ .
Only an opinion.