Experience with the HTC Touch HD - Future of pleco / WM

daniel123

榜眼
Because the QVGA display of my ipaq 114 is not very clear I wanted to buy a new decice. I looked for something with a big display. The ipaq has 3.5" and I cannot imagine to use a smaller one. The Xperia X1 and also the new Touch Diamond 2 have 3.2" displays. I thought for well using pleco they are a little to small.

Anyway the only new WM device with a big display seems to be the HTC Touch HD. I studied the blogs and forums and thought it should be possible to get everything to work and bought a cheap one with 2 years warranty via ebay.

The result is I got a device that is neither meat nor fish. The display is made for finger use. But many things on WM specially inside Pleco are not usable with finger. thats why you need a stylus. Using a stylus is no problem for me. I use it since my first Palm in 1998. But working with the stylus on the Touch HD is like a pain. The stylus is so short and thin that my arm and hand hurt when using it. Also the display is not very sensible for stylus action. I have to press with much power.

Working with stylus on my iPaq makes fun. On the Touch HD it is annoying.

Many things using Pleco are problematic. IA does not work in all applications. Selecting a part of the dictionary on pages with scroll bar just works when the keyboard is open. This is because when keyboard is closed the page is finger scrollable like the iPhone. Sliding the finger up and down. But it prevents me to select and highlight one sentence that I want to copy via copy&paste. When I activate the keyboard the page is no longer scrollable with finger. Then it is possible to select text.
The same effect is in "Manage Flashcards": In left drop down I select category and in the right drop down I want to scroll down to find my category. This is just possible when the keyboard is opened because otherwise I scroll the main page (including the category content)