Studying Chinese in China

I am wondering if anyone knows of any kind of survey among people who have studied chinese in china to see if there is any consensus as to what are the better schools for studying chinese in china.

I have spent four summers in beijing studying chinese. This summer will be my fifth. My first three summers were with ACLS (Worldlink), which went bankrupt after the director absconded with all the money. My choice of ACLS was somewhat arbitrary, based to a certain extent on how professional the website looked. Last summer I studied with CLE, to which I was referred by a former ACLS teacher who told me a lot of their teachers had moved on to ACLS. (That could be because both were located at Jianwai Soho.)

I have looked at the websites of many schools and they all look pretty much the same. Perhaps they all are really the same. Small class sizes, similar textbook choices - NPCR or Boya or Short Term Spoken Chinese, field trips, etc. I have thought about attending a university, but their large class sizes intimidate me, although those westerners I have met who spoke the best chinese all have attended a university.

Any ideas or comments?

gato

状元
Boomerang Language Institute (BLI) has a pretty good reputation as it's founded by ex-IUP teachers.
http://www.blichina.com/
Taipei Language Insitute (TLI)'s Beijing branch also has a good reputation.

You probably look around on Chinese-forums, as there are more discussion of schools there.
http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php ... institute/
BLI (Beijing Language Institute)
http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php ... ngnanjing/
Learning Chinese through a self-found tutor or a school in Beijing/Nanjing?

arc892

I wouldn't recommend those private schools, they can be quite dodgy as you found out.