I've had enough of Windows Mobile

Lurks

探花
. The bottom line is I just can't stand windows mobile. It's nothing short of diabolical despite me giving it the best try out possible. I've got a HTC Touch HD and I've got a cooked firmware on it which delivers a good boost in features and performance over the firmware it shipped with. It's still so poor as a phone, as a web browser, as a messenger, that I just can't take it any more. I know from a past email exchange with Mike that we're not really going to see eye to eye on this and being as Pleco is wedded to C++ (which as a developer I also understand), there aint going to be an Android version any time soon.

That doesn't really absolve WM. Having to mess around just to get Chinese language support and the sub optimal third party input systems that either don't work right, don't work at all, or are just plain a pain in the ass even when they do work... bit of a deal breaker. At least as much as the lack of a plain jane decent gmail system (the browsers are a farce). Also I have bsolutely zero faith that MS will fix this with 6.5 or even 7 to my satisfaction.

Then there's the whole stylus thing. I think it's ironic how much extra hardware I'm carrying around and yet how much more useful it was walking down the street having the Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary on an old N95 because I could easily launch the app and look words up with one hand. I think the era of the stylus and resistive touch screens has well and truly gone.