Chinese Language on Windows Mobile 6

I recently purchased an HTC Touch with the English OS but it did not come with a software program to read and write Chinese. I know other users have said CE-Star is a good program but this is a fee based program and since I am a college student and used most of my English teaching money just to buy the phone I prefer some type of freeware. Any other programs out there for Windows 6 that will help read and write Chinese? Thanks in advance!

sfrrr

状元
I don't know of any freeware that works for Chinese IME. If you find one, please let us all know.

Sandra

chao-ren

进士
I think the reason your English version of HTC Touch does not come with a free copy (or OEM version , as we call it ) of CE-Star, is probably because you didn't buy it from an official reseller. All English interface versions of HTC Touch whether you've purchased them from Hong Kong or Singapore should come with a free copy of CE- Star in the install diskettes. There are two install cdrom diskettes. Please check whether this is the case. Maybe you just didn't realize that you can install a free copy of CE-Star from the install CDROM's that come with the package.

ldolse

状元
CE-Star really screws around with your system, it's quite annoying IMHO. Everything CE-Star does can be done for free aside from Handwriting recognition. Speaking of which, Mike, does your license allow the Hanwang recognizer to be converted to a full fledge SIP? This would be awesome if that could be done someday. The only other piece that is a bit difficult to do is support for Big5 and GB2312 encoded web pages - CE-Star has a special hack which does this, but uses a lot of memory. If you really need to see those types of pages a better solution is to find a cooked ROM with a WinCE.nls file containing the Chinese encodings. I've never needed to read those types of web pages on my PPC, so just enabling the character display and installing a free IME is enough for me.