Another request for device recommendations

machoo

Hello,
I am looking for advice in the ever-continuous quest of determining whether to purchase an Apple or Android device. I apologize ahead of time for the long post.
First, a little background.

I am a fairly old-school IT consultant that is generally disenchanted with the direction things have been going in the technology field. I will try to spare you my old fogey rant (Kids these days!!!) and just summarize with the statement that I prefer to stay off grid as much as possible, and prefer owning my song collection rather than renting it (Yes, I am a mostly CD guy).

I have recently taken on the responsibility of picking out a device to run Pleco for a relative who is very intelligent, but does not have the time to wade through all the technology options. She does not have a smartphone, partly by choice and partly due to expense. I do not want to be personally responsible for setting her down the road of interwebz dependence (yes, I said interwebz). So, a non-phone device is preferred. This pretty much means iPod vs. TBD Android media player.

My first and main question is how does the feature set of the two versions compare? Being a borderline conspiracy theorist means I would prefer Android, but I am also a very pragmatic person. I have noticed from the previous posts on this forum that this program is developed for iOS first, and then "ported" over to Android. So, if there is some substantial difference between the two I will probably swallow my pride and select the iPod.